Skip to content

Meet the Team – Ashley Crocker

Published by Jo on 7th April 2021

Ashley Crocker joined Green Light in April 2019, making the leap to Health & Social Care from a background in mechanical engineering and agriculture.  Ashley is now Deputy Manager at Big Wig a beachside home in Holywell Bay where he and his team support three adults with autism and learning disabilities.    

 

Q: Where are you from and where do you live now?

 

A: I was born and have lived in Cornwall all my life.  I went to school and worked in and around Liskeard, Callington and Lostwithiel.

 

Q: How did you hear about Green Light?

 

A: I heard about Green Light through their Facebook posts.  When I saw a post offering the opportunity to become a support worker within their team I jumped at the chance as I had been interested in changing my career path, so relished the challenge of learning new skills whilst making a difference to the lives of others.

 

Q: Why did you decide to work for Green Light ?

 

A: After seeing through social media the positive difference the team at Green Light had made to the lives of the people they supported, I felt that working within their team would fulfil my ambition to make a difference to others, and set myself a new life challenge.

 

Q: What is your previous experience of autism or learning disabilities?

 

A: All of my previous work experience had been mechanical and agricultural. I was working as a farm hand on a sheep farm whose owners had an autistic son who loved the sheep and would come out and help me with the daily tasks. I found myself during my daily work building a good relationship with him, supporting him to take responsibility for a small number of the sheep, carry out the feeding and teaching him to drive the feed buggy, which gave him a great sense of achievement and really built his confidence. This then planted the seed in my head and got me thinking maybe I could help others to achieve their goals and enhance their lives too.

 

Q: Do you have any special skills/hobbies or interests?

 

A: I am a keen mountain biker and kayak-er.  I enjoy all outdoor activities such as hiking, surfing etc.  I’m always keen to give anything a try. This has benefited me in my role at Green Light as the people we support are capable of great things with the right support and encouragement of the people supporting them.

 

Q: When not working what are you most likely to be doing?

 

A: In my spare time you would find out and about in the woods on my mountain bike, out on the river in my kayak, or walking my dogs. Family time is important to me, fortunately my wife and three children share my passion for outdoor life too!

 

Q: What do you have on your bucket list?

 

A: Anything and everything.  I believe in taking every opportunity that comes my way. I would like to undertake some long distance cycle tours, travel more, and experience as many other cultures that I have the good fortune to do so.

 

Q: Who is your hero or heroine & why?

 

A: I don’t have one specific hero.  I believe you can find something in everyone you meet to aspire to.

 

Q: What three words sum up your personality?

 

A: Relaxed, positive and enthusiastic.